Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

The first batch of cookies I baked in Tokyo turned out dry and flavorless. Since the first attempt, I have continually adjusted a few different recipes (and the baking time) to create my own version of chocolate chip cookies. These cookies are not too sweet, they don’t use too much butter, and they have whole wheat flour in them. What more could you want in a cookie?!

c1a.jpg

Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

5 tablespoons butter, melted

1 to 1 ¼ cups brown sugar

1 ½ teaspoons vanilla

1 egg

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour, sifted

1 cup whole-wheat (pastry) flour, sifted

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 to 1 ½ cups chocolate chips

1 handful of chopped walnuts or pecans

  • Melt and cool the butter.
  • Stir the brown sugar and vanilla to the melted butter.
  • Add the egg to the butter/sugar mixture. Stir to combine.
  • Sift the flours, baking soda, and salt. Add to butter/sugar mixture.
  • Add chocolate chips and nuts. Stir to combine.
  • Cover the bowl and let the dough rest in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

Notes:

  • The dough will be very stiff when mixing all the ingredients together.
  • Our oven is very small (I’ll post a photo sometime) and is a convection-type oven, so I’ve made a guess on the baking temperature and time above. I have been baking mine around 180 degrees Celsius for only 5-6 minutes (total).
  • Due to the small oven, I bake 2 sheets at a time to speed up the baking process.
  • When forming the cookies, scoop out mound of dough and place it on the cookie sheet.
  • Since the dough is very stiff, the cookies will not flatten. When you remove the cookies to rotate the baking sheets, take the back of 2 spoons and gently flatten the cookies. This will help them to spread just a little bit, but also makes them chewy and moist.

c7a.jpg

 

  • You might need to adjust the recipe based on your taste and ingredients. You can easily use all-purpose flour for the entire recipe, add more sugar, omit the nuts, etc.
  • The whole-wheat flour I found in Tokyo is a very fine consistency when compared to the wheat flour I’ve used in the U.S. I believe it might actually be whole-wheat pastry flour.
  • Chocolate chips and semi-sweet chocolate do not really exist in the area (unless you want to buy a very small bag, for a very high price). Instead of chocolate chips, I have been chopping up small milk chocolate and dark chocolate bars.
  • The brown sugar is different than the typical brown sugar I am used to using in the U.S. as well. The first time I made cookies, I used a brown sugar that appeared to be white sugar with brown food coloring. I am now using a very natural-type brown sugar, which has a stronger molasses smell and is less sweet than the brown sugar in the U.S.

c3a.jpg

If you make this recipe, let me know how they turn out! I don’t know if this is a recipe everyone will enjoy, but I’d be interested in hearing your feedback if you try these cookies.

Posted in Recipes. Tags: . 8 Comments »

8 Responses to “Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Mom Says:

    Grandma Mac would love these cookies – not too sweet, not too rich and no white flour – she would even eat these! I’ll give them a try and let you know – maybe I’ll serve these on Christmas Eve for everyone….

  2. Patricia Scarpin Says:

    Your cookies look so beautiful. And delicious, too!

  3. Chunee Says:

    I miss your holiday treats! Can you ship any my way?!

  4. Beth Says:

    Thanks for the comments!

    Chunee – I’ll send a box of treats your way. I know how much you love popcorn – so extra caramel corn for you! :)

  5. Nikk Says:

    hey , how many cookies does this recipe make ?

  6. seebeautiful Says:

    Hi Nikk –

    Good question! I have never actually counted the number of cookies this recipe makes. My guess would be about 24 small cookies? I have a very small oven, so the cookies are more bite-sized!

    If you make these, let me know how many you end up with!

  7. kt Says:

    Sorry to just comment out of the blue in your blog, but I’m wondering if you can help me on a quest. I’m trying to find a place that sells whole wheat flour in Tokyo. I’ve been googling all over the place to see if the Internet could help me and I found your post! Did you buy your whole wheat flour in Tokyo? If so, can you tell me where you found it?

    Thank you!

  8. seebeautiful Says:

    Hi kt! No worries on commenting…I’m glad you did! :)

    Yes! I found whole wheat flour in Tokyo! I usually found it at Queens Isetan supermarket or Tokyu Hands. (I always picked it up at Queens.) They always seemed to have 2 different types, in 2 different parts of the store. Check the typical section with the flour, but then also look in the mini-baking section where they often have sprinkles, tiny bags of powdered sugar, etc. I always found a clear bag of wheat flour in this section.

    Don’t hesitate to ask if you have any more questions. I am happy to help.

    -beth


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

