Curry and Dijon Baked Chicken

.

A new spice has entered my world of cooking.

Curry powder.

I used to be intimated by curry powder. Everything about curry seemed so intense.

The aroma.

The flavor.

The color.

While I had previously enjoyed eating meals prepared with curry, I never attempted to cook with curry. Since we moved to Tokyo, this has changed.

Curry is not just a spice used in Indian cuisine. Curry is a very popular dish in Japan, but the preparation and flavor is often different than when people associate curry with Indian cuisine. The Japanese preparation often includes a dark brown sauce, which is often milder than the intense flavor accompanied with the traditional Indian preparation. Curry is not limited to Japan and India. In fact, it is commonly found in dishes prepared throughout Asia, S.E. Asia, West Asia, and Britain.

The versatility of curry is the perfect reason why I am adding it to my spice rack. Don’t get me wrong, I still believe curry is an intense spice, but the more I cook with it, the less intimidated I become!

I have so much to learn about cooking with curry, but I think this recipe is the perfect introductory recipe for those wanting to enter into the world of curry. This is a simple recipe and the blend of honey, Dijon mustard, soy sauce, and curry makes an excellent combination.

If anyone has a favorite recipe using curry, please post a link and I will have to try it out!

.
.
.
.
.

Curry and Dijon Baked Chicken

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons soy sauce
½ tablespoon curry powder (increase the amount for a more intense and spicy flavor)
¼ teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (optional)

  1. Prepare the chicken by removing any skin and flatten the pieces so they are an even thickness.
  2. Mix the honey, Dijon mustard, soy sauce, curry powder, black pepper, and crushed red pepper flakes in a bowl.
  3. Add the chicken to the bowl and mix until the chicken is evenly coated.
  4. Allow the chicken to marinate for at least 3 hours. The longer, the better!
  5. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  6. Lightly grease a baking sheet or dish and lay out the chicken pieces in the pan.
  7. Bake the chicken for 20 minutes.
  8. Remove the pan from the oven and turn the chicken over.
  9. Return the chicken to the oven and bake for an additional 20 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.
  10. Note: As the chicken bakes, keep an eye on the pan to see if the juices begin to brown. As the browning begins to form, add water to the pan. I often use about 1 to 1½ cups of water. The water will loosen the brown parts from the bottom of the pan, thicken with a little additional cooking time, and make an excellent sauce to pour over the chicken after it bakes.

This dish goes well served with brown rice and Roasted Vegetables with Soy Sauce and Ginger. Watch for a future post on the perfect way to cook brown rice. It does not involve a rice cooker or the stove top…
.

Posted in Recipes. Tags: , . 20 Comments »

20 Responses to “Curry and Dijon Baked Chicken”

  1. Kat Says:

    Oh my goodness, that looks tasty! Your chicken is cooked absolutely perfect – it looks so juicy.

  2. Kevin Says:

    That chicken looks so good and sounds so tasty! Bookmarked

  3. Cedar Says:

    I saw this yesterday from tastespotting, and decided to try it tonight. Both my husband and I loved it. We did add a bit more curry and red pepper flakes, because we like it really hot…but it was delicious. Thanks!

  4. seebeautiful Says:

    Kat – I wish I had photos of the 1st time I baked chicken in our oven in Tokyo. The oven cooks everything so quickly, that the first baking attempts made for some SUPER DRY chicken (just picture an old leather shoe…).

    Kevin – Thanks for stopping by! You have some great recipes on your site. I will have to try them out sometime! Let me know how the chicken turns out.

    Cedar – I’m glad you enjoyed the chicken. The last time I made it, I did the same thing as you and increased the amount of spice. I definitely recommend doing this!

  5. Kalyn Says:

    It does sound really delicious.

  6. csquad Says:

    Hi! I stumbled upon this recipe from tastespotting when I was trying to find a simple marinade – and this was perfect! I subbed a few things, but the curry + mustard combo was absolutely perfect and my chicken was delicious. thank you so much!

  7. [eatingclub] vancouver || js Says:

    Got here by way of Closet Cooking. Your chicken dish looks great!

  8. seebeautiful Says:

    Hi js – Thanks for your comments! It was fun to see Closet Cooking put their own little spin on the recipe. This is such a easy and tasty dish! The leftovers are great on a salad. Yum!
    -Beth

  9. JB Says:

    I came across your site via dogpile websearch and I am impressed with the color and the recipe. However I am going to have to modify it to see if it will work for a whole chicken that I am baking. I will let you know soon how it turns out. My family loves curry but I haven’t tried this on them. Here’s hoping for the best.

  10. seebeautiful Says:

    Hey JB – Please let me know how it turns out with the whole chicken! What a great idea!! Happy holidays to you and your family.
    – Beth

  11. maria Says:

    i tried this recipe last sunday and i will deff do it again and again!!! it is goood!!!!! thanks for sharing the recipe =)

  12. seebeautiful Says:

    Hi Maria! Thanks so much for your kind feedback! I’m SO glad you liked the recipe!! Enjoy!! :)
    -beth

  13. beeker Says:

    I was looking for an easy recipe to jazz up chicken and I came across your recipe on tastespotting. It is delicious! I wish I had some basmati rice but made do with couscous instead. Thanks for sharing!

  14. seebeautiful Says:

    Hi beeker – I continue to be amazed at the people who find this recipe!! You have to love Tastespotting!! I’m so glad you liked it…basmati rice sounds like a perfect side….good idea….yum! Thanks for your note!

  15. Spring Fever | Beeker's Words Says:

    […] It was an amazing ending to dinner last night. I have also made homemade Sweet Potato fries and Curry and Dijoned Baked Chicken. Both are excellent recipes! I am counting the days until the Farmer’s Markets […]

  16. David Hall Says:

    A Wonderful Chicken Recipe!
    I soaked 3 chicken brest for 2 days in a thyme, ment, salt brine. Then I washed and dried the chicken and marinated it in the Curry-Dijon over night. <> Today for lunch break I baked the chicken. The chicken was really good, moist, and tasty.
    Thanks seebeautiful for sharing.
    Dave

  17. Eat-Play-Thereof Says:

    I did this on a bed of linguine (since it’s similar to thai noodles) tossed with a couple tablespoons each of Sesame Oil and soy sauce. Sprinkled sesame seeds on top of it all and added some fresh thai basil after a quick chiffonade and voila! Amazing dish, thanks for the great recipe!

  18. Chilli Chicken | Dinner Recipe Ideas Says:

    […] We are still on the trying-out-new-recipes kick, a pretty awesome hobby, if I do say so myself. I think it must be because we’re bored and cold and stuck insdie, but I like it. Tonight, Jonathan made Chilli Chicken which was quite good, but could have actually been spicier for us. Tomorrow we’re making Curry & Dijon Baked Chicken […]

  19. Chilli Chicken | Som2ny Says:

    […] Chilli Chicken Image by ginnerobot We are still on the trying-out-new-recipes kick, a pretty awesome hobby, if I do say so myself. I think it must be because we’re bored and cold and stuck insdie, but I like it. Tonight, Jonathan made Chilli Chicken which was quite good, but could have actually been spicier for us. Tomorrow we’re making Curry & Dijon Baked Chicken […]

  20. Nice Chicken Recipe photos | somefingfood.com Says:

    […] Chilli Chicken Image by ginnerobot We are still on the trying-out-new-recipes kick, a pretty awesome hobby, if I do say so myself. I think it must be because we’re bored and cold and stuck insdie, but I like it. Tonight, Jonathan made Chilli Chicken which was quite good, but could have actually been spicier for us. Tomorrow we’re making Curry & Dijon Baked Chicken […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

