Hello from Tokyo!

I successfully made my way to Tokyo and have spent my first 24 hours in our new home. The flight to Japan was fairly uneventful. As we were departing Minneapolis, the plane flew North over the Mississippi River for awhile. I was able to see the remaining wreckage from the I-35W bridge collapse. It was definitely a strange sight to see.

I had loaded up my carry-on bag with enough healthy snacks – apples, carrots, rice cakes, and Lara Bars, so I didn’t have to eat the nasty food on the plane. Ironically enough, there were 2 people next to me who had brought on McDonald’s and offered some to me. I kindly declined and went back to reading the book I brought – titled Fast Food Nation (The Dark Side of the All-American Meal), by Eric Schlosser. This is definitely an interesting read. I have a feeling each page will have increasingly disgusting information. The details in some of this book remind me of Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle. Tasty!

Shawn took me to the local ward office on Monday to apply for my Alien Registration Card. I’m working on unpacking my things and making a list of the many items we need to purchase to get our new home set up. Monday was also a day full of a lot sleeping.

Today we got out for a run in the morning!

Here is a photo from one of the shopping areas near our neighborhood.

cimg1026a11.jpg

Posted in Japan. Tags: . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Hello from Tokyo!”

  1. Emma Says:

    Welcome to this side of the world! 🙂

  2. Jen Says:

    I still cannot believe you live in Japan. I am so glad you both made it there safely and very excited that you put this together for everyone. And really, could you take more amazing pics? Hi Emma!


Leave a Reply

