So…You Think I’m 43

I found a new shopping area today called Sasazuka Street. There are so many different sights and smells to enjoy. I will have some good photos to post over the next few days.

img_0344a.jpg

I was in the 100 Yen store (similar to the ‘dollar stores’ in the U.S.) while on Sasazuka Street, when I was stopped by a local woman who wanted to practice her English.

Stranger (S): Hello! How are you today?
Me (B): I am good. How are you?
S: Good – me too. Where are you from?
B: I am from Minnesota.
S: Ah – Minnnnn-eeee-soooo-taaaa.
B: Yes, Minnesota.
S: You are America?
B: Yes, I am American.
S: America in Minnesota?
B: Minnesota is in America.
S: Ah – yes. How old are you?
B: How old do you think I am?
S: Ummm – 43.
B: 43?
S: Yes, 43.
B: (Laughing) – I am younger than 43. (I told her my real age.)
S: Oh. You graduate from the university?
B: Yes.
S: In Minnnnn-eeee-soooo-taaa?
B: No, in Iowa.
S: Iowa?
B: Yes, Iowa State.
S: I do not know Iowa.
B: There is a lot of farming in Iowa.
S: I do not know what farming is.
B: Uh – lots of fields with corn and soybeans.
S: Oh, corn – beautiful!

I believe this is just the beginning of conversations like this.

Another photo from the shopping area…

img_0359a.jpg

Posted in Japan. Tags: . 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “So…You Think I’m 43”

  1. Shelley P Says:

    I’m smiling so big and laughing out loud – wonderful story and BEAUTIFUL PICTURES! 😀

  2. Renee Tadych Says:

    The story is really funny because I’m 43 so if she saw me she would think I looked 50 “something” to her! I think I’ll say here in America!!! I’m enjoying the pictures you are publishing – keep them coming!!

  3. Beth Says:

    Renee – With your sleek new hair cut (and styling tools), NO ONE would guess you are 43!! 😉

  4. Jen Says:

    These are absolutely amazing pictures. And 43? : ). You know I am laughing so hard right now. LOVE IT!!

  5. Kathryn Armstrong Says:

    So glad you are getting settled in and got a laugh from the local’s!

  6. Chunee Says:

    I’m dying over here trying to suppress my laughter while at the office. HILARIOUS!


Leave a Reply

