Translation Humor

We recently purchased some coasters and trash cans at the Yen Shop. I’m still trying to figure out what the product information is supposed to mean. πŸ™‚

coasters3.jpg

Corkstar: Very like a natural sense. Deliver kindness of the cork for your life.

trash3.jpg

Witty Trashcan: The ECO CREEN DUSTBOX is bound to make your room the most wounderful.

Posted in Japan. 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “Translation Humor”

  1. Jayne Says:

    I definitely need a wittier trash can. The one I have now is just plain sarcastic.

  2. Renee Tadych Says:

    Beth:
    Cork dampens noise – it is a natural acoustic insulator; feels good to walk on – it provides a cushioning effect; cork has many resistive qualities – it’s fire resistant and will not spread flame, naturally repels insects and is rot resistant! cork is a good insulator; antistatic and hypoallergenic – does not shed gases or fiber or attract dust and debris; color fading – will fade over time in direct sunlight ~~ this is the kindness you will recevie in your life while living in Japan!! What part of that do you NOT understand?? Pretty straight forward to me!! πŸ™‚

  3. Beth Says:

    Renee – I had no idea you were so well versed on the benefits of cork! What other fun facts do you have?

  4. Emma Says:

    Yay for the witty trashcan! We have 3 of them! 100 yen shops are the best!

  5. Renee Tadych Says:

    Beth,
    Silly you, that’s what the internet is for! Does the witty trash can come in other colors? That green doesn’t work in my home; I was thinking of silver or even white? I may need you to ship one back to the US for me to experience what you are in Japan! I want my room to feel wonderful πŸ˜‰

  6. Amie Says:

    I definitely want a witty trashcan…it will match the owner!


Leave a Reply

